krotdial.blogg.se

Brute force or irradiance map vray 3.6
Brute force or irradiance map vray 3.6







brute force or irradiance map vray 3.6
  1. #BRUTE FORCE OR IRRADIANCE MAP VRAY 3.6 HOW TO#
  2. #BRUTE FORCE OR IRRADIANCE MAP VRAY 3.6 FULL#

Someone on twitter asked me to clarify why I prefer the universal version of the HDR sky render over the irradiance map version. Adding the render times on the images is just so that we can compare one method with another method, I'm not trying to fool anyone here! For the render times for one workstation just double the stated render times. I never do animation work so have no experience with having to output super clean renders so please bear that in mind in the comments.Īll images here were rendered at 1024 x 576 pixels, but on TWO dual xeon workstations. When I do high res renders, like over 5k, I sometimes even increase the noise threshold to 0.02. The renders are just for comparison purposes. then I would just change the noise threshold from 0.01 to something lower. I suspect this was because the Min Shading Rate was already optimising things as far as they could go.įor people thinking that the above renders look too noisy for their uses. HDR Domelight subdivs: In the past I have had success with changing the subdivs of the domelight, but for brute force with this scene it didnt make any difference. Secondly I enabled EMBREE as my processors support it for an extra reduction in render time. See blog post on Universal Settings in VRay 3.0 for more info.

brute force or irradiance map vray 3.6

6.įirst off I set the Min Shading Rate to 6, which made a huge difference. This is maybe a bit of an old skool trick to try and encourage faster render times, but as demonstrated above it might not be much faster and it loses a lot of definition in the shadows.

#BRUTE FORCE OR IRRADIANCE MAP VRAY 3.6 FULL#

The scene I was sent had a low res copy of the HDR sky in the vraydomelight, and a full res version in the environment override slots in the vray settings.

#BRUTE FORCE OR IRRADIANCE MAP VRAY 3.6 HOW TO#

Universal Settings uses Brute Force for primary GI and Light Cache for secondary GI, if you are unsure how to set it up, take a look at the vray help files section on Universal Settings.Ĭlarification on my HDR setup: I always use just one full resolution HDR sky in a vraydomelight to do all lighting reflections etc. I will switch to Irradiance map later on to show how it compares. Of course it takes a lot longer to render, but it will help me to optimise the scene. I prefer working in vray universal settings mode, so to do most of my testing I am switching over to that set-up. There were a couple of things I changed right away: 1.ĭisabled bitmap paging In some versions of 3dsmax/Vray it seemed to slow things down, so I always disable it. The first step is to figure out what is going on in the scene, and to render it as opened. I haven't used anything but a HDR sky lighting set up (interiors & exteriors) for about 4 years so thought I would try to answer a lot of the questions here.įewlo from the chaosgroup forum has kindly allowed me to use his interior as an example. I get a lot of emails from people asking how they can use my HDR skies for arch viz interiors and if it is even advisable.









Brute force or irradiance map vray 3.6